Suffolk Coastal Business and Community Awards open for entries

Suffolk Coastal Business and Community Awards open for entries

The Suffolk Coastal Business & Community Awards are open for entries and will remain open for nominations until 5th January 2018. This year’s awards categories cover teamwork, growth, services to the community, health & wellbeing, customer service and tourism.

Each award aims to recognise the contributions, initiatives and successes of businesses, groups and individuals within the Suffolk Coastal District over the past 18 months. The winners will be announced at a black-tie awards dinner at The Hangar, Kesgrave Hall on 15th March 2018.

The line-up of 2018 sponsors includes: Christies Care, EB Carpets, EDF Energy, Gotelee Solicitors, Places for People Leisure, Suffolk Places, Ufford Park and Suffolk Coastal District Council and Suffolk Coastal Norse.

Councillor TJ Haworth-Culf, Suffolk Coastal District Council’s cabinet Member with responsibility for Customers, Communities and Leisure, said: “We’re expecting this year’s awards to be bigger than ever as we look to reward more businesses, groups and individuals who are making a real difference in the community.

“This year we have two new awards, the ‘Food & Drink Retailer of the year’ and the ‘Big Bang Award’ which looks to recognise those driving the growth of science, technology, engineering and manufacturing in this area. There’s so much innovation happening in this part of the world, we need the public’s help in finding those who inspire the community and make this a special place to live – so get nominating!”

Charles Rowett, CEO of Gotelee Solicitors – sponsors of the welcome drinks – added: “It’s a real pleasure for us to sponsor the Suffolk Coastal Business and Community Awards for the second time.  With our new coastal footprint and strong corporate offering to businesses, it’s a no brainer for us to be sponsoring these awards that reward good business.”

For more information on the awards or to nominate someone for an award visit

The full list of awards and sponsors is as follows.


L-R Back Row: Paul Wood (SCDC), Ray Herring (Leader of SCDC), Tim Snook (Leisure & Contracts Manager SCDC), James Kindred (Suffolk Places), Charles Rowett (CEO of Gotelee Solicitors), Jonny Lowdell (Places for People), Will Gibson (Enabling Communities), Jason Berry (Economic Development SCDC)

L-R Middle row: Laura Hack (SCDC Project Manager), Sonia Lambert (Economic Dev. Officer), Emily Smith (Christies Care), Niki Rousseau (EDF Energy), Christina Barham (EB Carpets), Sarah Shinnie (Active Communities)

L-R Sofa: Hannah Benworth (Suffolk Places), Nicola Yeo (Vice Chairman SCDC), TJ Haworth-Culf (Cabinet member for customers, communities and leisure), Debbie Ratcliffe (Ufford Park)

All articles on this news site are submitted by registered contributors of SuffolkWire. Find out how to subscribe and submit your stories here »